Friday, November 21, 2008

Navagraha gayatri

Navagraha Icons in a Hindu temple

Nine Planets or நவக்ராஹா

The Hindus attach significance to Navagrahas (or Nine Planets including sun and moon) and they believe that these planets play a keyrole in their destiny. The nine planets are Sun (Surya) , Moon (Chandra), Mars (Chevvay) , Mercury (Bhudhan), Jupiter (Guru or Viyalan), Venus (Sukran), Saturn (sani), Rahu (Shaddow planets - Snake's head) and Ketu (Shadow plaents - Snake's tail) control our joy, sorrow, obstacles, business, career, marriage, progeny, health and longevity and death. The Indian calendars have assigned more importance to these planets and the week days are named in the names of these seven planets (Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn).

In lunar based Hindu astrology, significance is attached on the positions of the nine planets in the twelve constellations of the zodiac, the belt around the sky in which the movements of Sun, Moon and planets are confined. People believe that transition of Saturn, Jupiter, Rahu and Ketu from one zodiac sign to other sign will bring good or bad or mixed fortunes. All miseries and obstacles caused by one or many planets will be mitigtated by chanting Gayatris relevant to the specific plane(s).

Surya gayatri (Sun)

om aswadhwajaaya vidmahae
paasa hastaaya dheemahi
tanno surya: prachodayaat

Chandra gayatri (Moon)

om padmadhwajaaya vidmahae

hema rupaaya dheemahi

tanno soma: prachodayaat

Angaaraka gayatri (chevvaai) (Mars)

om veeradhwajaaya vidmahae

vighna hastaaya dheemahi

tanno bhouma: prachodayaat

Budha gayatri (Mercury)

om gajadhwajaaya vidmahae

sukha hastaaya dheemahi

tanno budha: prachodayaat

Guru gayatri (Jupiter)

om vrishabadhwajaaya vidmahae

kruni hastaaya dheemahi
tanno guru: prachodayaat

Shukra gayatri (Venus)

om aswadhwajaaya vidmahae
dhanur hastaaya dheemahi
tanno shukra: prachodayaat

Sanishwara gayatri (Saturn)

om kaakadhwajaaya vidmahae

khadga hastaaya dheemahi
tanno mandah: prachodayaat

Raahu gayatri (Shadow Planet -Snakes Head)

om naakadhwajaaya vidmahae
padma hastaaya dheemahi
tanno raahu: prachodayaat

Kethu gayatri (Shadow Planet - Snakes Tail)

om aswadhwajaaya vidmahae
soola hastaaya dheemahi
tanno ketu: prachodayaat

Related Post: Gayatri on other Deities
Ganesha Gayatri

Rudra Gayatri

Shiva Gayatri

Sri Gayatri

Sri Shanmuga Gayatri

No comments:

Post a Comment